If all else perished…

If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would turn to a mighty stranger: I should not seem a part of it.β€”My love for Linton is like the foliage in the woods: time will change it, I’m well aware, as winter changes the trees. My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary. Nelly, I am Heathcliff! He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte

As those who know me, know I am a devourer of books. I’m limited in my recreational reading only by the time spent with my ‘required reading’ πŸ˜‰ . With that said, I thought this would be a fun place to post/discuss some of my favorite quotes.

In all honesty, after reading Wuthering Heights I was pretty despondent. It is a classic after all and I had high hopes, but uplifting doesn’t really seem to have been Emily’s style. Sure, it’s beautifully written, painfully evocative, and has some passages that stay with you whether because they are beautiful or horrifying or both, but in the end it was still so heart wrenching and sad. I wouldn’t consider it one of my favorite books, and if you asked me whether I even liked Heathcliff or Catherine I wouldn’t know what to tell you (probably that I don’t like them, they aren’t very likable). That being said, I read this book years ago and this quote is still one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

