…and we felt young in a good way.

Five minutes of a lifetime were truly spent, and we felt young in a good way. 

I love this quote. It comes just after, “I feel infinite” and I just love the feeling of this moment. It’s very beautiful. The idea of feeling happy and alive, aware of the moment and it’s significance, and sharing it with people you care about.

This is a movie that I like as much as the book (CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?), you really can’t go wrong with Stephen Chbosky’s Perks of Being a Wallflower. First of all, Perks is my favorite teenage coming of age story (and I’ve read a few). Charlie is a wonderful character and for me he really stands out from the pile of angsty teenage protagonists. So, the fact that I enjoy both the novel and movie was a wonderful surprise.  I think the carry over was due, in large part, to the creative control the author had over the movie. In my opinion that’s the ONLY way to make the transition to film with any hopes of success. Now, don’t get me wrong, not everything in the book is in the movie (READ THE BOOK), but the cast does an outstanding job of bringing the relationships to life. I did miss some of the interactions and backstory with his family, but I felt having that knowledge from the novel helped me to appreciate the characters more. If you haven’t read/watched it…DO.

Another favorite:

Charlie, we accept the love we think we deserve.

The-Perks-of-Being-a-Wallflower-Screen-Captures-Trailer-logan-lerman-31037789-1280-720

Leave a Reply

