10 Terrible PT School Words:

I love words. I really do. But not all words are created equal. You know the ones I’m talking about. Some words just make you queasy, and I could live (very happily) without them.

A special shout out to Wound Care for introducing me to 4/10 words featured on this list! Not only do they ‘feel wrong’ when you say them but the actual definition is just as stomach churning. (If you google the corresponding images, it can’t be unseen, you have been warned.)

This is, by no means, an exhaustive list 🙂

1. Pustule

2. Slough (Ewww…)

3. Flaccid

4. Sphincter (Particularly if pronounced ‘phincter. Ugh.)  

5. Gravida

6. Eschar or Escharotomy

7. Invaginate

8. Plinth (lets get real, you mean table)

9. Dysdiadochokinesia (not because it’s detestable , just because no matter how many times I say it, I sound like I’m a four year old- Dys..dysdiado…cho…chokinesia! do we really need that many syllables?)

10. Seepage

Bonus: Any food word used to describe a wound. Just don’t.

Leave a Reply

