5 of the Most Naturally Beautiful Places I’ve Ever Been:

And would LOVE to go back to!

Grad school keeps you pretty cooped up. Although, being in school does entitle you to school related breaks, (Christmas! :D) which are absolutely wonderful. Nevertheless, I was feeling nostalgic and travel hungry and decided to make a list of some of the places I’ve found most beautiful in my life. I’ve been lucky to have had the opportunity to travel a great deal already, and can’t wait to country hop with B and Sunny when we get the chance!

1. THE BLUE LAGOON: In my air force brat travels I lived a combine total of 5 1/2 years in Keflavik, Iceland. The NATO base is now closed, and it makes me a little sad to think that no more little military kids will get to experience all that Iceland has to offer. The land of fire and ice is LOADED with awe inspiring things to see geysers, hot springs, northern lights, mud pits, puffin cliffs, outstanding waterfalls, active volcanoes, and the list goes on.

So to kick off my list of beautiful places, the world’s favorite geothermal spa.

One of the coolest childhood memories I have is going to the blue lagoon with my family at night. While we were swimming it began to snow. You could see the flakes falling above us, but the steam from the naturally heated water kept them from ever touching us. This place has an almost otherworldly kind of beauty about it. The spa is set in a lava field with snow, therapeutic mud, and volcanic rock everywhere, it’s a real site to see.

2. GARMISCH, GERMANYPossibly the most beautiful place I’ve ever been. Nestled into the Alps on the border of Germany and Austria there is a military base and and resort called Edelweiss Lodge. The first time we drove through the Alps on our way to Garmisch I was speechless at their grandiosity. They made every mountain range I’d ever seen look like ant hills. Even my memory of the incredible Rocky Mountains all of sudden seemed like kid stuff. To say that the Alps are dramatic is an understatement. My family was lucky enough to visit on a couple of occasions while we were stationed in Ramstein, and I’m dying to take B and Sunny back someday. Oh, and a little FYI the lodge has pet friendly cabins, YES! 😀

Please Air Force send us back to EUROPE!

3. FUJI FIVE LAKES (SAIKO): You can see Mount Fuji from Yokota Air Force Base where my family was also stationed, but the view from the five lakes surrounding the mountain is a whole different story. I was wakeboarding on Lake Saiko the day that my Dad was climbing it. I remember thinking at the time that the view looking up at that mountain was one of the most amazing things I’d ever seen.

4. GULF OF MEXICO: I consider myself from Florida, so maybe I am a little partial. BUT I’ve been to beaches all over the world and none of the have been able to beat the Gulf of Mexico. They may not take the cake for best waves, but asthetically I’m a sucker for the sugar white sand, splendid sunsets, and crystal clear water. So the beach makes the list!

IMG_2575

My parent’s backyard in Panama City Beach. Retirement doesn’t look too shabby.

5. The NORTHERN LIGHTSSo Iceland features again! This was another perk of spending years up in the somewhat frozen tundra, outstanding natural light shows! I can remember my siblings and I being pulled from bed in our PJs, parkas, and snow boots to watch the sky flicker with beautiful lights in the middle of the night. How do things like this even exist? Go home nature you’re drunk.

Just in case you had any doubt that Iceland is a stunningly beautiful study in contrasts, here is Bon Iver’s music video for their song Holocene.

 
Leave a Reply

