Food Post: Ghost Cookies!

AKA Forget Me Kisses, Meringue Cookies, Forget’em Cookies…or “My Desperate Attempt to Successfully Whip Egg Whites” Cookies

These are a super cute Halloween treat that involve whipping egg whites, adding sugar, and basically making a meringue. Featured in the cookbook my Mom gave me two years ago, I’ve never mustered the courage to deal with the delicate egg white protein solo. The thought entered my mind today, when I was considering our PT school costume party Thursday πŸ˜€ , that Ghost Cookies sure are cute and tasty. I figured I’m 24 years old, it’s almost Halloween, how tough could it be.

I amassed the ingredients:

4 egg whites (room temperature)

1 tsp of cream of tartar

2 tsp of vanilla extract

1 1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips

P1010898

This little setup made a world of difference. Notice the busted yolk in the yolk bowl.

First step, preheat the oven to 350degrees and cover two baking sheets with parchment paper, set aside.

Next, separate the egg white from yolk.

Unfortunately for me I made a rookie mistake and ended up with a bit of yolk in my egg whites. Daaaamn it.Irritated but not deterred I found some lovely resources on egg white whipping, like thisΒ one, which proved immensely helpful, and started again.

Next step, was to beat the egg whites. Easier said then done in my opinion, but my first goal was to achieve a foamy consistency and add the cream of tartar.

P1010899

Foamy.

Next my goal was to achieve “soft peaks” and slooooowly incorporate the sugar (a couple tablespoons at a time) and vanilla.

P1010905

Stiffening up, soft peaks forming.

Last step,Β watch for “stiff peaks,” stop beating, and carefully fold in the semi-sweet chocolate chips.

P1010906

Stiff peaks…I think.

Terrified of over beating I began folding in my chips as soon as I saw the peaks. I dolled out my ghost’s using two spoons onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, and lastly adding little ghost eyes. Now, the recipe says to preheat the oven to 350 degrees, put the cookies in, turn the oven OFF, and leave undisturbed for Β 2hours-overnight. Pretty vague cook time if you ask me.

AND THE FINISHED PRODUCT…

Boo!

Boo!

Ok, so they’re not the best looking ghosts I’ve ever seen, and in hindsight I maybe should have made them smaller. BUT they’ve got ghostly little eyes and taste delicious! I’m counting it as a win ;).

2 thoughts on “Food Post: Ghost Cookies!

  1. Ha, yours came out better than mine did on first attempt. I was trying to get rid of most of the sugar, a no-no it seems. However, Gourmet (the cookbook) says you need one just 1/4 cup sugar for every egg-white – so you could get away with just 1 cup of the wicked stuff in your recipe. My second try was much better at that ratio – happy Halloween!

    • Thanks for the tip! That’s probably why it took me a lot longer than I was expecting to get from soft to stiff peaks, I was having to dissolve all that sugar. I’m positive they’ll turn out better my second try! Happy Halloween! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

