It’s a Whole New World!

I’m officially finished with my 2nd year of PT school. That is to say, I am essentially through the solely academic portion of the program. I will never have to take another final or practical again.ย I’m going to repeat that, in case you missed it. I will NEVER take another final or practical in PT school again.

Image

I know! I can barely believe it myself. Honestly, it hasn’t really dawned on me that when we go back to class for a few weeks in January there will be no, “you’re responsible for this on the practical” or “the final is comprehensive.” And frankly, I’ll believe it when I see it, sometimes those professors can be pretty sneaky ๐Ÿ˜‰ . Now, that is NOT to say I won’t have to study like crazy for boards, and be a nervous wreck when I start my long term clinicals in February. BUT a massive milestone has passed nonetheless!

It’s literally like an enormous weight, I didn’t know I was carrying, has been lifted off my shoulders. Like I’ve let out a breath I didn’t know I was holding. The nagging tension between my shoulder blades? History!

Image

On my first day in this crazy new world I slept in late, the boy and I went out for breakfast, and we went Christmas shopping! I’ve had to put the Christmas season on hold the past couple of weeks, which has been horrible! I love this time of year, and for days could only dream of being through the seemingly never-ending barrage of exams, presentations, and practicals. Well NO LONGER!ย We put our morning to good use and have definitely caught up a bit on the Christmas shopping list.

Now I’m sitting on the couch with Sundance drinking a chai latte, not a single academic concern on my mind. And you know what? It feels even better than my finals addled, sleep deprived mind had imagined it would. We’re watching Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, one of my all time favorite movies. Side note, in case you haven’t put it together, Sundance was named for this movie ๐Ÿ˜‰ . If you haven’t seen it, buy it.

Leave a Reply

